Oh, the places…


20 May, 2010, 4:15 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So the last few weeks of silence have been some of the most amazing. I was given a couplet of job opportunity but both were only windows. For I had to let them go in only a short time. From those two, however, I was given the chance to explore & see places outside of the Hills (living in Baulkham Hills area is fun, but not the most accessible to city or sand). Adventurous discovery, i tell YA. The train, buses, and ferry rides are all that in itself. Timetables+platforms+stands+wharfs all are apart of the journey to get to where one wants to go when using the public transport of Sydney. Ha, you can imagine how frustrating it is when you are 10 minutes early and the bus is 10 minutes late OR worse, you are a measly 30 seconds too late. That has happened, yes. After realizing the next 616X city’s will come around shortly—releasing+discarding that momentary frustration— i turned up the volume to the goodness playing on the old-faithful iPod (Mute Math is a favorite day-starter)and nodded to the beat. Anyway, after an 8-hour day of training in Glebe(one my absolute favorite places i have discovered) and a fundraising day at the city Town Hall Steps, I had had enough of the UNICEF campaigning. I had prayed before coming to ‘stralia that the Lord would put me in a job situation with a non-profit. PRAYER ANSWERED! Amen. I couldn’t ignore the fact that the Spirit inside knew, by the end of the 3 day season I would soon be lead to another door (i will know it when i see it). After wishing my supervisor the very best and saying “so-long” to new friends, I found the ferry leading to the Northern Manly Beach. FINAAAALLLY! After two unsuccessful attempts to the beach, I was on my way. As the old saying goes, “3rd time’s a charm”. Now, I understand those words don’t always ring true but in this circumstance…it is golden.

And it was one of the greatest experiences yet. I was doing what I had so much wanted to do, go the flipping beach. 🙂 Sitting next to me on the ferry boat, Theresa shared with me stories and answers to my built-up curiosity; I told her she comes from a beautiful country and encouraged her to see more than the ride along the Bay. That afternoon was a pleasant one indeed. I saw the sunset from Manly Wharf & while waiting for the return ferry, I ate a spring roll & a curry puff from the freshest thai pick-up-and-go kind of place. I then sampled hazelnut gelato from the sweetest vendor. All was okay in the world.

The remaining days in the week of leisure were so peaceful. I spent my days at the southern beaches: Bondi, Tamarama, and Bronte Beach. I found a slice of heaven. Honestly, the shoppes and the cafes are picturesque and the company is quite nice. I think I’ll keep that place in my pocket. I loved it and returned 3 more times on that beloved multi-pass. Needless to say, I will go back. On the Friday, i drove for the 1st time EVER out of the United States of America. ha, yes! left side of the road+right side of the car. It was unforgettable, i tell you. Saturday was lovely, spent with my gorgeous friend Amy.

There are so many stories to tell of the places and friendly encounters I’ve had in the short time i’ve been here. Words cannot express the contentment and joy, joy, JOY i am experiencing. Dreams and hopes and visions and expectations are high. Groundbreaking things, under the surface now, will soon be revealed. I love to see what’s going on in the Church. Epic things are about take place. Pray and seek the Lord, people!!! The Kingdom of God is within us. -c

‘Your Kingdom come. Your will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven.’

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are having such an amazing adventure!

Comment by Gina

Hi Carley Boo:
I have a Skype account now so when you get back online look me up twenslen. I have been looking at your entries on your blog -keep it up, Girl, you have a gift for writing!
I just finished my SEW workshop in Tuscaloosa on June 25th.. . thought I was totally finished but found out I have one more class – typical, huh?
I also recently found out I am going to be a Grandmama– hurrah!! Jessie and Lamar are expecting in Feb. I can’t wait. Mac is leaving for Africa soon also. I am still trying to find a job myself so I understand how you have been feeling. . . . sorta – I do have someone to fall back on literally – you are falling back on FAITH – which will keep you in good standing with God!!! I believe if we all had to rely more on our Faith, we would grow much more in our maturity with God and stop being such babies. Again, I can’t tell you how much I admire your step of Faith and your courage in taking that step. I love you, Girl, you are constantly in my thoughts and prayers. Don’t let the devil cloud your vision or cause you to doubt what God has said – be strong – don’t be shy about letting us know your needs, financially, physically, and spiritually – we can pray and we can hopefully help out sometimes financially – send us an address.

Comment by Terry Enslen




Leave a Reply

